Cover:

I love this cover. Mega-City One is shown here to be a shiny, new, futuristic city, which it was at the time the strip is set. This makes for a nice  contrast with the current Dredd strip, and the state the city now finds itself in. Both Anderson, and in particular the Lawmaster look great, and if I was a lapsed reader this is exactly the sort of cover image which would make me pick up a copy of the prog. A great effort.

Judge Dredd – Day of Chaos: Eve of Destruction – Part 16:

Each week i’m looking more and more forward to reading Dredd. Not suprisingly this week Haldane is revealed to be a mole in the justice system, quickly eliminating all the other Judges at the containment facility. Meanwhile the riots in the city appear to be getting worse, as the judges find themselves walking targets out on the streets. The final line in this weeks strip has to be one of the best cliffhangers I’ve ever seen in the prog, with Haldane preparing to set the Dark Judges free. I’m finding it increasingly dificult to review Dredd just now, as I’m running out of superlatives to describe the current story. Suffice it to say that this is perhaps the best Dredd has ever been.

Flesh – Midnight Cowboys – Part 7:

Well we go from a truly brilliant strip to a truly awful one, with Flesh following Dredd in the line up this week. The story continues to go absolutly nowhere fast, while the only female character in the strip continues to act like something out of a teenage male virgins fantasy. This weeks installment has really divided opinion over on the 2000AD forum, and I find myself agreeing with those who are beginning to find this strip to actually be pretty sexist. I sincerely hope that when this story ends, we never have to suffer through another series of this rubbish.

The Zaucer of Zilk – Part 6:

Judging by events in this weeks installment we could be heading towards the end of The Zaucer of Zilk. This would suprise me as I thought it would be at least ten parts long. I’m still finding it to be hugely enjoyable and McCarthy’s art remains as glorious as ever. Zaucer of Zilk continues to be something of a suprise hit.

Age of the Wolf II – She is Legend – Part 9:

As Age of the Wolf II nears its conclusion, I’m beginning to find I’m enjoying it a lot less than I have previously done. Last weeks installment was a bit of a let down, and this weeks really isn’t very good either. There’s very little story this week, and even Jon Davis Hunt’s usually reliable art work seems to be a little bit off, looking genuinly dull in places. I’m hoping this improves before the end, as it would be a shame for a strip which had such a good start to end so poorly.

Cadet Anderson – Algol – Part 1:

The biggest suprise on reading the start of a new Cadet Anderson story was just how good Steve Yeowell’s art looks. I’m normally not a fan of his art at all, but the colouring by Eva De La Cruz has made the art look actually pretty nice. Its too early to judge the story just yet, but its a good start and I enjoyed the last Cadet Anderson story so I have high hopes for this one. As I mentioned earlier in the review the contrast between the Mega-City One seen in this strip, and the present day city seen in the current Dredd strip is brilliant, as here we see the Judges in full control and Mega-City One seeming a far nicer place. Well…apart from all the crime of course.

Overall:

The start of a new Cadet Anderson strip gives this weeks line up a boost. Dredd continues to be worth the cover price alone, while Zaucer of Zilk is still enormous fun. Flesh is still dreadful and unfortunatly Age of the Wolf is currently proving to be a bit of a let down. Fortunatly though, this weeks prog has more hits than it does misses.

Quote of the Week: “Fear, Fire, and Mortis loose in the city – absolute mayhem.” – Judge Dredd

Thrill of the Week: Judge Dredd

